Official Website of the Camogie Association


Cork Colleges are hosting the tenth annual Intercounty “”James Hurley”” U14 camogie blitz at Mallow on Saturday, 30th May at 11am. Galway A & B, Clare A & B, Tipperary A & B, Waterford, Limerick A & B, Kilkenny, Offaly, Cork Colleges A & B, Dublin A & B, both Cork primary squads, both Dublin primary squads and Kerry have all confirmed they are participating to date in the blitz. The competition was the brainchild of James Hurley, former Cork Colleges Camogie Chairman, in whose name the cup is commemorated.

The counties will play a round robin series of games with cups for the A and B winners on four pitches with multiple substitution ensuring every player has ample opportunity to display their skills. Cork Colleges will attempt to add to the Clare blitz trophies they won last month and selector Cian O’ Brien is optimistic about his charges this year, stating “”We have options throughout the field with competition for places in every position.

The blitz format requires a different approach where all the panel need to make a contribution to ensure victory””. The introduction by Ardchomhairle of the development squad scheme, sponsored by Coillte, since 2004 has encouraged many counties to organise their under 14 panels, thus following the trend set by the aforementioned James Hurley who had begun the process in the late nineties. Cork selector Prionsias Creedon said “”over 500 girls will be representing their county, vying for honours against arch rivals at a magnificent Mallow venue and probably marking it as one of the most enjoyable days of their young playing career””.

The strength in depth of the rebel county, sponsored by Gaelic Gear, is emphasised by the fact that they have two teams participating in the competition. Indeed, over 31 clubs are represented on the Cork teams. The Munster Council initiative is introducing the Cork Primary squads, under the management of Terry O’ Brien,  to the blitz. Games commence at 11am with the program of prospective camogie stars usually treasured by the players on this initial step to future glory. The finals are scheduled for 3pm and the hosts will look to Katie O’ Donovan, Grainne Sheedy, Claire Shine and Amy Murphy to lead the Cork A sides’ charge whilst Shauna Ring, Emma Clifford, Aideen Buckley and Amy Cullinane have been consistent performers for the B panel.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners