Official Website of the Camogie Association


Cork Colleges are hosting the eleventh annual Intercounty “”James Hurley”” U14 camogie blitz at Mallow on Saturday, 5th June at 10am. Galway A & B, Tipperary A & B, Waterford, Limerick A & B, Kilkenny, Cork Colleges A & B, Dublin A & B, both Cork primary squads, both Dublin primary squads and Kerry have all confirmed they are participating to date in the blitz. The competition was the brainchild of James Hurley, former Cork Colleges Camogie Chairman, in whose name the cup is commemorated. The counties will play a round robin series of games with cups for the A and B winners on four pitches with multiple substitution ensuring every player has ample opportunity to display their skills. Cork Colleges will attempt to add to the Clare blitz trophies they won last month and selector Dave Daly is optimistic about his charges this year, stating “”We have options throughout the field with competition for places in every position””.
The blitz format requires a different approach where all the panel need to make a contribution to ensure victory. The introduction by Ardchomhairle of the development squad scheme, sponsored by Coillte, since 2004 has encouraged many counties to organise their under 14 panels, thus following the trend set by the aforementioned James Hurley who had begun the process in the late nineties. Cork selector Prionsias Creedon said “”over 500 girls will be representing their county, vying for honours against arch rivals at a magnificent Mallow venue and probably marking it as one of the most enjoyable days of their young playing career””.
The strength in depth of the rebel county, sponsored by Performance Sports Gear, is emphasised by the fact that they have two teams participating in the competition, with the Munster Council initiative introducing the Cork Primary squads to the blitz. Games commence at 10am with the program of prospective camogie stars usually treasured by the players on this initial step to future glory. The finals are scheduled for 2.30pm and the hosts will look to Amy O’ Connor, Ciara O’ Leary, Leona Murphy and Linda Collins to lead the Cork A sides’ charge whilst Cathy O’ Mahony, Leanne Kelleher, Claire Sexton and Alicia Cremin have been consistent performers for the B panel.
Michelle Murphy (Christ King), Aine Crowley, Leona Murphy , Caroline Murphy (Bandon), Amy O’ Connor (St. Vincent’s), Ciara Daly, Ellen Benaim (Carrigtwohill), Megan Kelleher, Roisin Twohill (Charleville), Joanne Walton, Kate Crowley, Niamh McCarthy, Caoimhe O’ Keeffe (Choilm), Ciara O’ Leary, Dearbhla Ahern, Edel Tarrant, Orlaith O’ Driscoll (Coachford), Laoise Burke, Ruth Brosnan (Col An Phiarsaigh), Meabh Mulcahy, (Fermoy), Sarah Fahy (Glanmire), Linda Collins , Nicola Coleman , Chelsea Campbell (Kinsale), Tammy Kelleher, (Mallow), Hannah Looney, Sharon Murphy, Taylor Kruschel (Midleton), Siobhan Sheehan (Millstreet), Judy Murphy (Mount Mercy), Keelagh Cullinane (Youghal).

Emma Mahon, Laura O’ Leary (Bandon), Grace Heffernan (BCS), Aisling O’ Keeffe (Blarney), Katie Cronin (Buttevant), Rachel O’ Shea (Carrigaline), Holly Breheny (Carrigtwohill), Erin Mcelhinney, Jennifer Sorenson (Col Choilm), Alicia Cremin (Christ King), Claire Sexton (Clon), Jill Kiely (Coachford), Eirne Desmond, Lucy Allen (Col An Phiarsaigh), Katie Coughlan (Drom), Joanne O’ Keeffe, Trish O’ Sullivan (Fermoy), Chloe Ahern (Glanmire), Aisling O’ Reilly, Niamh Sheehan, Cathy O’ Mahony, Leah O’ Sullivan (Kinsale), Emily Fitzpatrick (Mallow), Jessica Dunne, Leanne Kelleher, (Millstreet), Maedhbh Ellen Desmond (Mount Mercy), Emer Cummins (Scoil Mhuire), Amy Walsh, Clodagh O’ Keeffe (St. Angela’s), Caoimhe Rodgers (St. Patrick’s).


Pitch 1 (Bottom pitch) Group A1                                                                         
10am                Tipperary A        v  Limerick A (Emily)                 
10.30am            Tipperary A        v Galway A (Emily)                   
11am                Dublin A            v Limerick A (Emily)                 
11.30am            Tipperary A        v Dublin A (Emily)                    
12.00                Limerick A         v Galway A(Mike S)                   
12.30                Dublin A            v Galway A (Mike S)                 
1pm (A semi)    Winner A1        v Runner Up A2 (Mike Sheehan)        
Pitch 2 (Stand Pitch) Group A2
10am                Cork Colleges A v Cork Primary A (Susan)
10.30am            Kilkenny                        v Cork Primary A (Susan)
11am                Cork Colleges A v Wexford A (Susan)
11.30am            Kilkenny                        v Wexford A (Susan)
12.00                Cork Colleges A v Kilkenny (Peter)
12.30                Cork Primary A              v Wexford A (Peter)
1pm (A semi)    Winner A2                    v Runner Up A1 (Peter Downey)
2pm Pitch 1                   [FINAL of B Competition] (Mike Sheehan)                                
2pm Pitch 2                   [FINAL of A competition] (Peter Downey)
Pitch 3 (Pitch opposite main entrance) Group B1                                                 
10am                Tipperary B        v  Waterford (Eileen)                  
10.30am            Tipperary B        v  Cork Primary B (Eileen)                      
11am                Waterford          v  Dublin B (Eileen)                    
11.30am            Tipperary B        v Dublin B (Eileen)                    
12.00                Cork Primary B v Waterford (M. O’ Kelly)                       
12.30                Dublin B            v Cork Primary B (M. O’ Kelly)              
1pm (B semi)    Winner B1        v Runner Up B2 (Mike O’ Kelly)          
1.30pm (Plate semi) Winner of Lim B/Wexford B v Cork Primary B/ Dublin B (M. O’ Kelly)
Pitch 4 (Far off Top Pitch) Group B2
10am                Cork Colleges B v Limerick B (Rachel)
10.30am            Cork Colleges B v Galway B (Rachel)
11am                Wexford B                     v Galway B (Rachel)
11.30am            Cork Colleges B v Wexford B (Rachel)
12.00                Limerick B                     v Galway B (John)
12.30                Limerick B                     v Wexford B (John) [Plate + Final]
1pm (B semi)    Winner B2                    v Runner Up B1 (John O’ Leary)
2.15pm Pitch 3 [FINAL of Plate Competition] (John)
Mallow Town Park Pitch (Pitch opposite shopping centre) Plate Group
10am                Cork Primary B v  Kerry (Erinn)                      &bsp;   
10.30am            Cork Primary B v  Dublin U13B (Erinn)               
11am                Kerry                v  Dublin U13A (Aoife)                
11.30am            Kerry               v Dublin U13B (Aoife)                
12.00                Cork Primary B v Dublin U13A (Erinn)
12.30                Dublin U13A      v Dublin U13B (Aoife)                
1pm                 Top team         v 2nd Placed team [Plate semi Final] (Erinn)  
                        (Winner travel to Mallow GAA centre Pitch 3 for 2.15pm PLATE FINAL)
Schedule liable to change on the day!

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners