Official Website of the Camogie Association

St MacNissi’s Garron Tower 4-5    Our Lady’s Newry    4-0

Junior Medallion Shield final

St MacNissi’s Garron Tower 4-5       Our Lady’s Newry            4-0

Substitute Eimhear McAleenan delivered the killer punch with a last minute goal to kill off a brave effort from Our Lady’s Newry in Saturday’s excellent Junior Medallion Shield final in Larne.

It was St MacNissi’s Garron Tower’s first ever title and they now progress to take on the Munster champions in the All-Ireland series on March 1st.

Only two points separated the teams when Ashling Ward found the sub unmarked after 10 minutes of continuous pressure on their defence.  Eimhear pulled first time and ended Newry’s resistence.

The Tower had got off to a flying start with goals from Fionnuala McDonnell and Mairi Mulvenna in the opening 6 minutes.

Down under-age star Megan O’Reilly pulled one back for Our Lady’s but Ashling Ward restored the Tower advantage when she deflected Finnuala McDonnell’s effort home in the 21st minute.

At the other end Aisling O’Hagan flicked home one for Our Lady’s and Orla Gribben raised the tempo with another goal that closed the gap to a point in the 26th minute.

Tower captain Ciara Campbell pointed a free on half-time, but her side were rocked at the start of the second half with a Lauren McConville goal.

Ciara Campbell pointed another free to level in the 37th minute and the Tower camped out in the Newry half for the next 15 minutes with only two further points to show for their effort.

Megan O’Reilly then led the Newry fightback with Grace Brown, Lauren McConville and Orla Gribben keeping the pressure on. 

They gave the Tower a couple anxious moments before McAleenan’s late goal sealed an All-Ireland date with the Munster champions on March 1st.

St MacNissi’s Garron Tower : Shauna Kelly, Noleen Cosgrove, Anne Burke, Soracha Cosgrove, Bernadette Convery, Ciara Campbell capt 0-3, 0-2 frees, Danielle Scally, Maeve Connolly 0-1, Colleen Patterson, Emma McCambridge, Mairi Mulvenna 1-1, CßitrÝona McKay, Emma McToal, Ashling Ward 1-0, Fionnuala McDonnell 1-0.

Subs : Eimhear McAleenan 1-0 for E McToal.

Our Lady’s : Catty Rooney, Naomi Murray, Aoife Brown, Hannah O’Reilly, Sarah O’Hagan, Kelly Murnin, Jane Quinn, Megan O’Reilly capt 1-0, Grace Brown, Christina McConville, Orla Gribben 1-0, Rosie O’Hagan, Lauren McConville 1-0, Aisling O’Hagan 1-0, Lisa McCarthy.

Subs : Niamh McCarthy for A O’Hagan, Cliodhna Murtagh for L McCarthy.

Referee : Pßdraig Mullan (St Paul’s Belfast).


Below our games that had to be postponed due to snow on the pitch

Liatroim Fontenoys’ Cup final 12.30pm in Glen Maghera

St Pius X Magherafelt v Loreto Coleraine

Corn Eimhear final 2.30pm in Glen Maghera

Cross & Passion Ballycastle    v   St. Patrick’s Maghera

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners