Official Website of the Camogie Association

Gala All Ireland champions Wexford dominate the Energise Sport Camogie All Star nominations with eleven named.  League champions and All Ireland finalists Cork received eight nominations,Tipperary has five, Galway four, Dublin three, Gala Senior B champions Limerick and Junior champions Derry each has three. For the first time Meath is represented with defender Aileen Donnelly listed. Clare, Down, Laois, Kilkenny and Waterford are also represented.

Wexford’s goalkeeper Mags Darcy is joined by backs Aine and Deirdre Codd, captain Mary Leacy and Catherine O’Loughlin on the list.  In the midfield Wexford are represented by Caroline Murphy with Brona Furlong, Michelle Hearne, Ursula Jacob, Una Leacy and the Championship’s top scorer, Kate Kelly, were all named among the forwards.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists and last year’s champions Cork have eight nominations.  Their most notable nominees are midfielder Gemma O’Connor and forward Jennifer O’Leary who are both going for their fourth All-Star in a row.     

Tipperary, who were beaten in the semi final by Cork this year, are next in line with five nominations, while Galway, who were beaten by eventual winners Wexford in the semi final, have four players nominated for an All-Star. 

Dublin, who returned to senior championship action this year have three nominations along with Senior B champions Limerick and Gala Junior championship winners Derry. 

Waterford have two players nominated along with Clare, who were defeated by Derry in the Junior final.  There is a nomination each for Down, Laois, Kilkenny and Meath to complete the nominations for this year’s Energise Sport Camogie All-Stars. 

Liz Howard, President of the Camogie Association, has hailed the quality of this year’s nominees.  “”This has been a fantastic year for Camogie, both on and off the pitch.  We had two of the best Gaelic Games finals this year with our senior and junior finals in Croke Park. The standard continues to improve and the game is developing rapidly across the country.  Our All-Stars nominations are chosen from Senior A, Senior B and Junior which makes our awards more inclusive.  It is important to honour all our top players in all counties.””

The Camogie Association have also announced that Energise Sport will sponsor this year’s Camogie All-Star Awards in association with O’Neills.  This will see the Camogie Association link up with one of the most high profile brands within Gaelic Games.   

Christine Keohane, Senior Brand Manager of Energise Sport sees the sponsorship as a natural fit.  “”We are delighted to team up with the Camogie All-Star Awards as the sponsorship further deepens the brand’s role in the world of Gaelic games, given our existing relationship with the Gaelic Players Association (GPA).  Energise Sport is the only sports drink 100% produced in Ireland so it is important for the brand to be associated with the best of all things Irish and I believe this Awards ceremony is the most prominent date in the diary for the Camogie players.””

Liz Howard also expressed her happiness with the new deal.  “”We are delighted to have Energise Sport as the sponsors for this year’s awards.  To have such a well known brand interested in working with us shows exactly how much Camogie has progressed over the past few years and we look forward to having them as a part of this year’s All-Stars.””
The Energise Sport Camogie All-Star Awards, in association with O’Neills, will take place on the 10th of November at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin where the winners will be announced.

Energise Sport Camogie All-Stars 2007

in association with O’Neills

Eimear Butler (Dublin)
Mags D’Arcy (Wexford)
Paula Ryan (Tipperary)

Eimear Brannigan (Dublin)
Rena Buckley (Cork)
Fionnuala Carr (Down)
Rose Collins (Limerick)
Aine Codd (Wexford)
Deirdre Codd (Wexford)
Claire Doherty (Derry)
Aileen Donnelly (Meath)
Caitriona Foley (Cork)
Anna Geary (Cork)
Suzanne Kelly (Tipperary)
Niamh Kilkenny Galway)
Mary Leacy (Wexford)
Deirdre Murphy (Clare)
Sally O’Grady (Waterford)
Catherine O’Loughlin (Wexford)
Amanda O’Regan (Cork)
Aoife Sheehan (Limerick)
Philly Fogarty (Tipperary)
Ann- Marie Hayes (Galway)
Louise Mahony (Laois)
Caroline Murphy (Wexford)
Grainne McGoldrick (Derry)
Gemma O’Connor (Cork)

Claire Commane (Clare)
Orla Cotter (Cork)
Briege Corkery (Cork)
Veronica Curtin (Galway)
Marie Dargan (Kilkenny)
Aisling Diamond (Derry)
Brona Furlong (Wexford)
Claire Grogan (Tipperary)
Brenda Hanney (Galway)
Michelle Hearne (Wexford)
Ursula Jacob (Wexford)
Aisling Jordan (Dublin)
Kate Kelly (Wexford)
Una Leacy (Wexford)
Aine Lyng (Waterford
Eileen O’Brien (Limerick)
Jennifer O’Leary (Cork)
Joanne Ryan (Tipperary)


For further information:
Declan Lee – O’Herlihy Communications – 01 660 2744


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners