Official Website of the Camogie Association



Wexford dominate Camogie All Stars awards


All Ireland champions Wexford dominate this year’s Camogie All Star team with eight players named in the side; finalists Galway take five positions while Kilkenny and Cork share one a piece.



President Mary McAleese presented the recipients with their awards at a gala banquet at City West hotel tonight (Saturday, November 6th)



Winning captain Una Leacy and sister Mary both collected awards; veteran attacker Kate Kelly picked up her fourth accolade while Katrina Parrock, Player of the Match in the Gala All Ireland final received her first award.



Galway sisters, Niamh and Orla Kilkenny collected their first awards at corner back and midfield respectively. Wing forward Brenda Hanney and joint championship top scorer Aislinn Connolly were also honoured.



Cork wing-back Anna Geary collected her county’s sole All Star while Anne Dalton, Kilkenny is named in midfield for the second consecutive year.



Joachim Kelly was honoured with the Manager of the Year accolade. The former Offaly hurler guided his county to three All Ireland finals in two years, securing the Gala Premier Junior crown and most recently the Gala Intermediate title.



Galway’s Laura Mitchell was named as the O’ Neills Camogie Young Player of the Year. It tops off a wonderful season for the Killimordaly club woman who won a Minor All Ireland earlier in the season.



Speaking at the awards President Joan O’Flynn:  “”Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees and award winners. It is a fantastic honour to receive an All Star award but also to be nominated. The All Star awards are a prestigious individual accolade and cherished amongst players. They reward consistent displays throughout the season which are rich with talent, commitment and limitless skills.


We are delighted that we are now in our second Year of the Soaring Stars while it is the Inaugural Year of the Intermediate Soaring Stars.  The 2010 All Star, Soaring Star and Intermediate Soaring Stars teams are a wonderful exponent for the game of camogie.””



2010 Camogie All Star Team


Mags D’Arcy, Wexford


 Claire O’Connor, Wexford
 Catherine O’Loughlin, Wexford
 Niamh Kilkenny, Galway
 Regina Glynn, Galway  
 Mary Leacy, Wexford
 Anna Geary, Cork

Orla Kilkenny, Galway
 Anne Dalton, Kilkenny

Kate Kelly, Wexford
 Una Leacy, Wexford
 Brenda Hanney, Galway
 Katrina Parrock, Wexford
 Ursula Jacob, Wexford
 Aislinn, Connolly, Galway

O’Neills Manager of the Year

Joachim Kelly, Offaly

Camogie Young Player of the Year

Laura Mitchell, Galway

2010 Camogie Soaring Stars Team


Caroline Connaughton (Roscommon)


Rhona Torney (Antrim)
Shona Curran (Waterford)
Regina Gorman (Kildare)
Fionnuala Carr (Down)
Patricia Jackman (Waterford)
Jennie Simpson (Waterford)


Bernie Murray (Armagh)
Kerrie O’Neill (Antrim)


Michaela Convery (Antrim)
-ine Lyng (Waterford)
Shannon Graham (Antrim)
Sarah Anne Fitzgerald (Laois)
Jane Adams (Antrim)
Jane Dolan (Meath)

Intermediate Soaring Stars 2010

Elaine Dermody (Offaly)
Michaela Morkan (Offaly)
Ciara O’Connor (Wexford)





ò Pictures from the Camogie Association 2010 All Stars are available from Sportsfile Photography Agency

ò This is the 7th year of the Camogie Association All Star Awards in association with O’Neills.

ò Wexford are the 2010 Gala All Ireland Champions: Offaly the 2010 Intermediate Champions: Antrim the Gala Premier Junior Champions: Kildare the Junior A Champions.

ò Gemma O’Connor holds the most All-Stars collecting six consecutive awards.

ò Sisters Orla & Niamh Kilkenny (Galway) Mary and Una Leacy (Wexford) collected All Star awards while Claire O’Connor and sister Ciara O’Connor collected a senior and Intermediate Soaring Star award respectively.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners