Official Website of the Camogie Association


TWO cracking goals from Una Leacy five minutes before the break guided Wexford to their first National League Division One camogie title since 1977. A more battle hardened Leinster side were the dominant force throughout and ran out deserving winners on a scoreline of 2-12 to 0-11 at Parnell Park today.


Thanks to Leacy’s double strike the Slaneysiders led at the break 2-6 to 0-5 with Kate Kelly of Wexford and Claire Grogan of Tipperary exchanging from placed balls. A splendid point from a Grogan 45 saw the teams deadlocked after 20 minutes of play, 0-4 apiece.


However, when Leacy blasted from outside the 20 metre mark on 25 minutes she nosed the Purple and Gold 1-5 to 0-5 ahead, but her second goal after superb control was the killer blow. This yielded Wexford a 2-6 to 0-5 interval lead.


While Tipperary came more into the action in the second half, they could never quite match the accuracy and style of the Wexford girls. They were also held by a staunch Wexford defence where all six defenders, including captain Aoife O’Connor – excelled. Along with Leacy, Ursula Jacob and Michelle O’Leary stood out in attack while their midfield paring of Caroline Murphy and Kelly (0-8) were on top.


Scorers for Wexford: U Leacy 2-2, K Kelly 0-8 (0-5 frees, 0-1 45m), M O’Leary and U Jacob 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: 0-6 (0-5 frees, 0-1 45m), G Kinnane, C Hennessy, E Hayden, J Ryan and E McDonnell 0-1 each.

Wexford: M D’Arcy; B Holohan, D Codd, C O’Connor; – Codd, M Leacy, A O’Connor (Capt); C Murphy, K Kelly; M O’Leary, R M Breen, J Dwyer; U Jacob, U Leacy, M Hearne.

Subs: L Holohan for U Jacob (59 mins).

Tipperary: R Kennelly; S Kelly, M Luttrell, P Bulfin; M Shortt, T O’Halloran, M Ryan; J McGrath, J Horan; C Hennessy, C Grogan, U O’Dwyer; G Kinnane (Capt), E Hayden, E McDonnell.

Subs: J Ryan for P Bulfin (ht), J O’Halloran for E Hayden (51), C Devane for G Kinnane (58).

Referee: F McDonald (Armagh).





Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners